A service provided by German Rectors' ConferenceA service provided by German Rectors' Conference
  • Research Map

    Priorities in Research
    Universities

    Read More

  • Research Map

    Priorities in Research
    Universities of Applied Sciences

    Read More

Research in Germany: Research priorities at German universities

The German Rectors' Conference (HRK) publishes a bilingual Research Map (Forschungslandkarte) that details the key research priorities of higher education institutions. The Research Map allows you to search for the research areas that are of strategic institutional importance for each institution. The research areas can be searched by subject area and by region.

The HRK's Research Map presents the key research priorities of German higher education institutions in layman's terms and in a standardised format. Although individually responsible for the information they provide, the various institutions jointly make use of the content based Research Map to present information about the research priorities that define their institutional profiles.

The key research priorities complement the broad range of research conducted in the respective higher education institution, in conjunction with teaching and learning. The key research priorities generally are of an interdisciplinary character and address major challenges facing society.

The institutions combine the Research Map with an invitation to contact them in order to make use of their expertise and to explore possibilities for collaboration.

The HRK employs the Research Map as an instrument to support the marketing and internationalisation strategies of its members. The Research Map is also a welcome addition to the information provided in the Funding Atlas (Förderatlas) published by the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG).

The HRK's <i>Research Map</i> • covers all disciplines • does not imply any rankings or ratings • is neutral with regard to sources of funding • contains links to the institutions' websites • is based on information from the institutions themselves • is continually updated • is available in English and German (with the possibility of toggling between them).

The HRK's Research Map • covers all disciplines • does not imply any rankings or ratings • is neutral with regard to sources of funding • contains links to the institutions' websites • is based on information from the institutions themselves • is continually updated • is available in English and German (with the possibility of toggling between them).

The Research Map consists of two databases with entries for universities (blue) and for universities of applied sciences resp. "Fachhochschulen" (green) as defined in the Statutes of the HRK.

For each research priority, the following information is entered: • name of research area• short description (300 characters max.) • content classification under 14 subject areas covering all disciplines • technical / academic key terms.

For each research priority, the following information is entered: • name of research area• short description (300 characters max.) • content classification under 14 subject areas covering all disciplines • technical / academic key terms.

The map search offers four search options: by region, by any combination of the 14 subject areas, by thematic key term and by general keyword.

The advanced search is performed by entering a sequence of characters in the search dialogue.

Chart IFrameChart IFrame

Ein Angebot der HochschulrektorenkonferenzEin Angebot der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz
  • Forschungslandkarte Universitäten

    Schwerpunkte der Forschung

    Mehr lesen

  • Forschungslandkarte Fachhochschulen

    Schwerpunkte der Forschung

    Mehr lesen

Forschen in Deutschland: Institutionelle Forschungsschwerpunkte an deutschen Hochschulen

Die Hochschulrektorenkonferenz (HRK) informiert mit der zweisprachigen Forschungslandkarte (Research Map) über die thematischen Schwerpunkte der Forschung in den Hochschulen. Die Forschungslandkarte erlaubt die Suche nach Forschungsthemen, die das institutionelle Profil einer Hochschule besonders prägen. Die Forschungsthemen können fachlich und regional abgefragt werden.

Die Forschungslandkarte der HRK präsentiert herausragende Forschungsschwerpunkte der deutschen Hochschulen umgangssprachlich und auf einheitliche Weise. Mit der fachlich und thematisch angelegten Forschungslandkarte informieren die Hochschulen gemeinschaftlich, aber jeweils in eigener Verantwortung, über diejenigen Forschungsschwerpunkte, die in besonderem Maße ihre institutionellen Profile prägen.

Die spezifischen institutionellen Forschungsschwerpunkte ergänzen das breite Spektrum an Forschungsthemen, das in den einzelnen Hochschulen in Verbindung mit Lehre und Studium bearbeitet wird. Die Forschungsschwerpunkte sind zumeist interdisziplinär angelegt und großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen gewidmet.

Die Hochschulen verbinden ihre Forschungslandkarte mit der Einladung, Kontakt mit ihnen aufzunehmen, um ihre Kompetenzen zu nutzen und Kooperationen zu erörtern.

Die HRK unterstützt mit der Forschungslandkarte die Marketing- und Internationalisierungsstrategien ihrer Mitglieder. Auch ergänzt die Forschungslandkarte Angaben aus dem 'Förderatlas' ('Funding Atlas') der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft.

Die HRK-<i>Forschungslandkarte </i>• bezieht sich auf alle Disziplinen • impliziert keinerlei Ranking oder Rating • ist neutral bezüglich der Finanzierungsquellen • enthält jeweils Links zu den Webseiten der Hochschulen • basiert auf den Angaben der Hochschulleitungen • wird laufend aktualisiert • erlaubt das Umschalten zwischen englischer und deutscher Sprache.

Die HRK-Forschungslandkarte • bezieht sich auf alle Disziplinen • impliziert keinerlei Ranking oder Rating • ist neutral bezüglich der Finanzierungsquellen • enthält jeweils Links zu den Webseiten der Hochschulen • basiert auf den Angaben der Hochschulleitungen • wird laufend aktualisiert • erlaubt das Umschalten zwischen englischer und deutscher Sprache.

Die Forschungslandkarte besteht aus zwei Datenbanken, jeweils mit Einträgen von Universitäten (blau) und von Fachhochschulen bzw. Hochschulen für Angewandte Wissenschaften (grün) im Sinne der HRK-Ordnung.

Zu jedem Forschungsschwerpunkt ist eingetragen: • Name des Schwerpunkts • Kurzbeschreibung in maximal 300 Zeichen • inhaltliche Einordnung unter 14 Fachgebieten über sämtliche Disziplinen • fachliche/wissenschaftsspezifische Schlüsselbegriffe.

Zu jedem Forschungsschwerpunkt ist eingetragen: • Name des Schwerpunkts • Kurzbeschreibung in maximal 300 Zeichen • inhaltliche Einordnung unter 14 Fachgebieten über sämtliche Disziplinen • fachliche/wissenschaftsspezifische Schlüsselbegriffe.

Die Kartensuche bietet vier Suchoptionen: die Suche nach regionalen Kriterien, nach einer Kombination aus 14 Fachgebieten, nach thematischen Schlüsselbegriffen oder nach generellen Schlagworten.

Die erweiterte Suche basiert auf der Eingabe von Zeichenfolgen in die Suchmaske.

Karte IFrameKarte IFrame